GHHS 2019 Induction
Saturday, March 23, 2019


March 23, 2019

Chattanooga, TN


GHHS logo


11th Annual Induction Ceremony
Gold Humanism Honor Society
UT College of Medicine Chapter


On Saturday, March 23, 2019, at a luncheon in the Walden Club overlooking downtown Chattanooga, the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga hosted the 11th Annual GHHS Induction Ceremony welcoming 27 peer-nominated medical students who represent the top 15% of the College of Medicine Class of 2020 -- those who would be trusted most to care for their peers and their peers' family members.  In 2002, the national Arnold P. Gold Foundation established an international society to foster, recognize, and support the values of humanism and professionalism in medicine.  The Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) is committed to working within and beyond medical education to inspire, nurture, and sustain lifelong advocates and activists for compassionate patient care.  The University of Tennessee established a GHHS Chapter in 2009 under the leadership of Dr. Mukta Panda and Dr. Owen Phillips with seed funding from the Gold Foundation.


Officials present  at today's event included R. Bruce Shack, MD (Dean, Chattanooga Campus), Robert Fore, EdD (Associate Dean/DIO, Chattanooga Campus), Mukta Panda, MD (Assistant Dean, Medical Student Education for the Chattanooga Campus and GHHS Chapter Advisor),  Renata Rosenthal, PhD (GHHS Co-Advisor, Memphis), James Lewis, MD (GHHS Co-Advisor, Knoxville), Michael Whitt, PhD (Interim Associate Dean for Medical Education, Memphis), and Muthia P. Muthia, MD (Student Selected Keynote Speaker - Memphis).  Student GHHS Chapter Leaders from the Class of 2019 also participated in the ceremony:  Noor Ashibli (M4) and Kamry Clark (M4).

GHHS 2019 Inductees March 2019

Please join us in congratulating and honoring the following junior students who were inducted into the prestigious GHHS University of Tennessee Chapter today:


Sonia Ajmera Daniel Hamburger Erin Danielle Myers
Hannah Allen Jackson Ross Hearn Jamie Myong Reece**
Caroline Awh Ayub Khan Karwandyar Unsa Shafi
Kristen Rae Booth Zara Latif Anna Maria Smith
Louisa Chapoton Boyd Elizabeth Chandler Lee Nathan Russell Stanford  
Charlie Rowland Boyle Phillip John Link Trent William Stethen
Kimberly Keen Coca Bailey Diane Lyttle Sanhitha Valasareddy 
Charles Jennings Freeburg         Morgan Sullivan Mayfield       Larissa Christina Wolf***
Victoria Ashley Godwin* Megan Theresa McGarel Tony Zibo Zhuang


 *Memphis Student Liaison

**Knoxville Student Liaison

***Chattanooga Student Liaison


As part of the event, faculty and residents who were selected by medical students rotating in Chattanooga during 2018 were also honored and received Teaching Excellence Awards:


UT College of Medicine Awards for Teaching Excellence - Residents           

Chattanooga Teaching Awards 2018 (Selected by Medical Students)


Department/Program Resident Name
Emergency Medicine Residency Igor Tkachenko, MD, Chief Resident 
Family Medicine Residency Jordan L. Kim, MD, Chief Resident 
Internal Medicine Residency Suraj Shailesh Patel, MD, Senior Resident 
Obstetrics & Gynecology Residency Elissa P. Nagy, DO, Chief Resident
Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Franklin B. Davis, MD, 3rd Year Resident 
Pediatrics Residency Hannah E. Cox, MD, Senior Resident
Plastic Surgery Residency Joshua J. Rivet, MD, 2nd Year Resident (PGY-7)
Surgery Residency Victoria P. Miles, MD, 2nd Year Resident
Urology Residency Nathan L. Jung, MD, Chief Resident


UT College of Medicine Awards for Teaching Excellence - Faculty

Department/Program Resident Name
Emergency Medicine Benjamin Smith, MD, FACEP, and Jessica Whittle, MD, PhD, FACEP
Family Medicine Paul Dassow, MD, MPH, and Michael Shepherd, MD
Internal Medicine Howiada Salim, MD, FACP
Obstetrics & Gynecology Shanti Mohling, MD
Orthopaedic Surgery Jeremy Bruce, MD
Neurology Abdelazhim Sirelkhatim, MD
Pediatrics  Wesley Davis, MD
Plastic Surgery  Mark A. Brzezienski, MD, MS, FACS, and Jason Rehm, MD
Plastic Surgery Jason Rehm, MD
Psychiatry Audrey Hime, MD, and Joe Hime, MD
Surgery  Robert A. Maxwell, MD, FACS
Urology Amar Singh, MD, and Daniel Herz, MD


Updated 3/23/2019

UT College of Medicine Chattanooga     960 East Third Street, Suite 100     Chattanooga, TN 37403     (800)947-7823, ext 6956

Custom CMS and Web Design by Papercut Interactive