2009 GHHS Inaugural Induction Overview


2009 GHHS Inductees, Dr. Mintz, Deans, and Dr. Panda


The University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga is pleased to annouce that the inaugural induction of the UT College of Medicine Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) was held on Friday, April 17, 2009, in conjunction with the Harold Alper, MD, Humanitarian Community Lecture and Luncheon, from Noon - 2 PM in the Tennessee Room of the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Conference Center.  Sixteen members of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Medicine Class of 2010, nominated by peer and faculty selection, were honored as the first inductees at this inaugural event:


Alkesh Amin
Robin Denise Atkinson
Harry Michael Baddour
Joanna Gabriel Blankner
Brian Thomas Bogdanowicz
Chonna Lynn Larry
James Andrew Parnell
Bryan Keith Payne
Barry Joel Pelz
Gavin Butler Pinkston
Ron Benton Pitkanen
Jerry "Jay" Mark Smith
Matthew Jordan Steadmon
Byron Fitzgerald Stephens
Rebecca Zenaida Tuchez
Allyson Brooke Warren


Dr. Jacqueline A. Mintz, Executive Director for the national Gold Humanism Honor Society, attended the induction to mark this prestigious event.


The Gold Humanism Honor Society was established to foster, recognize, and the values of humanism and professionalism in medicine, and to inspire, nurture, and sustain lifelong advocates and activists for compassionate patient care.  Those chosen for membership must exemplify empathy, altruism, compassion, integrity, and service in their relationships with patients and others in the field of medicine.

UT College of Medicine Chattanooga     960 East Third Street, Suite 100     Chattanooga, TN 37403     (800)947-7823, ext 6956     info@utcomchatt.org

Custom CMS and Web Design by Papercut Interactive