Alper Humanitarian Award Ceremony & Lecture (12th annual)

Friday, March 29, 2019 from 8:00-9:15am

Probasco Auditorium, Erlanger Baroness Campus - Chattanooga, TN


Dr. Harold AlperThe Harold Alper Humanitarian Award is presented annually to a resident in his/her last year of training at the UT College of Medicine Chattanooga who has consistently demonstrated during residency the humanistic qualities for which the late Dr. Harold Alper was known: integrity, compassion, and community service. The 2019 ceremony is the 12th annual and consists of a 1-hour lecture/presentation about humanism in medicine, recognition of the award nominees, and the presentation of the Harold Alper Humanitarian Award to the chosen resident. The ceremony is funded by an endowment provided by the family of Harold Alper, MD.  


The 2019 Alper Humanitarian Award winner is Alexandria Cooke, MD from Family Medicine


The 2019 Alper Humanitarian Award nominees are:  

  • Byung Ban, DO - Internal Medicine
  • Alexandria Cooke, MD - Family Medicine
  • Hannah Cox, MD - Pediatrics
  • Duane Jurma, MD - Emergency Medicine
  • Nathan Jung, MD - Urology
  • Elissa Nagy, DO - OB/GYN
  • Ryan Voskuil, MD - Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Cole Webster, MD - Pediatrics
  • Gavin Wilks, MD - Surgery


Alper Humanitarian Award Ceremony invitation 

Click here to View the 2019 Invitation & Overview (.pdf)


Nancy Dickey, MD, 2019 Alper Awards SpeakerAbout the Speaker:  The 2019 keynote speaker is Nancy Dickey, MD, and her presentation is titled "Can We Achieve Humanism in Medicine in a Snapchat World?".  After nearly 12 years of service as president of the Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC) and vice chancellor for health affairs for The Texas A&M University System (January 2002 through October 2012), Dr. Nancy W. Dickey returned to the College of Medicine where she serves a number of roles both academic and administrative. During her tenure, the health science center grew the number of programs and number of graduates, expanded its research programs, and extended its service to the citizens of Texas. Currently, she serves as executive director of the Rural and Community Health Institute working with physicians and hospitals across the state of Texas to facilitate best practices in patient safety, enhanced quality of care, and physician excellence and demonstrating the importance of translation of sound policy and evidence-based medicine across the spectrum of practice sites and care delivery. Since July 2017, she has been the Department Head of the Department of Primary Care Medicine. Other roles at A&M include service as interim dean of the TAMHSC-College of Medicine (June 2000 until Dec. 31, 2001) and founding director of the TAMU Family Medicine Residency. Dickey was the first woman elected president of the American Medical Association. She is the recipient of numerous awards: Institute of Medicine (2007), Texas’s Women’s Hall of Fame (2010), and six honorary doctorate degrees.


Who should Attend?

Physicians, residents, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, registered nurses, medical students, and other medical professionals, community members, & students interested in humanity in medicine.


Registration is not necessary, but seating is limited.


AMA Credit: The University of Tennessee College of Medicine designates this live activity for a maximum of 1 AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. Accreditation: The University of Tennessee College of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.


Past Award Recipients:

2019 - Alexandria CookeMD - Family Medicine

2018 - Lauren Fox-Bergvin, MD - Pediatrics

2017 - Meshell Stokes, MD - OB/GYN

2016 - Anna Royer, MD - Surgery

2015 - Natalie Johnson, DO - OBGYN

2014 - Philip Sutherland, MD - Family Medicine

2013 - Bryan Vance, MD - Emergency Medicine

2012 - Fernando Windemuller, MD - Pediatrics

2011 - Andrew Todd, DO - Internal Medicine

2010 - Brent Campbell, DO - Family Medicine

2009 - Amanda Grubb, MD - Internal Medicine

2008 - Laura Cooley, MD - Internal Medicine

Past Keynote Speakers:

2019 - Nancy Dickey, MD - Texas A&M R&CHI

2018 - Barbara Tobias, MD - Health Collaborative

2017 - Robert Neel, MD - U. of Cincinnati

2016 - Cynthia Haq, MD - U. of Wisconsin

2015 - Danielle Ofri, MD Bellevue Hospital

2014 - Yank Coble, MD - CGHMD

2013 - Porter Storey, Jr, MD - AAHPM

2012 - Jonathan Amiel, MD - Columbia U.

2011 - Yolanda Wimberly, MD - Morehouse School/Med.

2010 - Yasmin Meah, MD - Mt. Sinai School of Medicine

2009 - Diane Meier, MD - CAPC


UT College of Medicine Chattanooga     960 East Third Street, Suite 100     Chattanooga, TN 37403     (800)947-7823, ext 6956

Custom CMS and Web Design by Papercut Interactive