Gastroenterology Fellowship


Program Overview

The Gastroenterology Fellowship program was approved by the ACGME and began training our first Fellow on July 1, 2016.  The insiitutional sponsor is the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga and training is based at the Erlanger Health System, our primary affiliated clinical facility.


Our fellowship is a three-year program and has been accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) to train four total fellows.  We established the program with one PGY-4 first year fellow as of July 1, 2016.  As we progress, we will seek two PGY-4 first year fellows for July 1, 2017. Then, we will seek one incoming fellow for each year, and two incoming fellows every third recruiting year.  Fellows will begin training on July 1 each year as well as participate in several days of orientation the last week of June. 


The fellowship is sponsored by our Department of Medicine in conjunction with our Internal Medicine Residency.  Louis Lambiase, MD, Chair of the Department of Medicine, is also our Gastroenterology Fellowship Program Director.


Our Gastroenterology Fellowship is designed to ensure that graduates meet requirements approved by the ACGME and its Internal Medicine Residency Review Committee, as well as subspecialty milestones for educational development for each fellow during the three years of training.  Fellows must also be certified in Internal Medicine by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) before graduation from our program.  Our program is structured to ensure that our graduates are prepared for for the ABIM Gastroenterology Certification Examination and have met or exceeded the required number of procedures needed to practice.


Helpful Information LInks

Gastroenterology Fellowship Application Information

Applicants must have completed a three-year accredited Internal Medicine Residency prior to entering our Gastroenterology Fellowship.  All applicants must be registered in the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP) Medical Subspecialties Match.  Also, our program only accepts applications via the AAMC's ERAS (Electronic Residency Application Service).  We DO NOT consider candidates outside the NRMP and ERAS systems.


We are currently reviewing all applications through ERAS (Electronic Residency Application Service).

ERAS dates of application are:  July 15, 2016 through October 7, 2016 


Interviews for the July 2017 positions will be conducted in the month of December 2016.  


Applicants must submit required documentation via ERAS including:

  • Curriculum Vitae
  • ECFMG Certificate, if applicable
  • USMLE Scores (including Step 3)
  • 3 Letters of Recommendation
  • Personal Statement

Interviews are by invitation only.  Qualified applicants will be invited to interview.


Please view the links below regarding our current Initial Resident Letter of Agreement and terms and conditions of appointment, as well as recruitment, selection, and appointment policy:


Initial Fellow Agreement 

Recruitment & Selection


For questions regarding the Gastroenterology Fellowship, please contact Tammy Elliott, Fellowship Coordinator via email at or phone at 423.778.4465.


Academic Office Location

UT College of Medicine Chattanooga

Cardiovascular Disease & Gastroenterology Fellowships

979 East Third St, Suite B-506
Chattanooga, TN  37403
Phone:  423.778.4465 


Note:  The Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners requires that applicants for license in Tennessee must be graduates either from LCME or AOA accredited schools or from international schools whose admission meet or exceed those of medical schools accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education.  The UT College of Medicine Chattanooga and its programs have determined that they will only consider applicants for student rotations or residency/fellowship applications who are from schools who meet these same criteria so they would be eligible for medical license in Tennessee after completing residency.  The Board of Medical Examiners adopts the following list of accreditation bodies:

  • In addition, the National Committee on Foreign Medical Education and Accreditation (NCFMEA) provides a list of countries whose designated accreditation process or designated organization used for their accreditation has comparable standards used to evaluate medical schools in the United States by the LCME. Medical schools in those countries and accredited by the listed accrediting authority will be deemed to meet the criteria required in Tennessee 

Updated 10/12/2016

UT College of Medicine Chattanooga     960 East Third Street, Suite 100     Chattanooga, TN 37403     (800)947-7823, ext 6956

Custom CMS and Web Design by Papercut Interactive